01/07/07 – Chairman re-elected at Brecon Beacons National Park Authority

The Chairman of Brecon Beacons National Park Authority, Mrs Mary Taylor, and Deputy Chairman Cllr Krish Pathak have been re-elected for another year at the National Park Authority Annual General Meeting held last Friday 29th June 2007.

Mrs Taylor has served on the National Park Authority for the past ten years and was appointed Chairman in June 2006. She has a keen interest in environmental issues at a local and national level, and is also Vice-Chairman for the Council for National Parks.

“I am honoured that the National Park Authority members have elected me to continue as Chairman for another year. This past year has been very challenging for us, particularly with the newly consented pipeline.  I have very much appreciated the support we have received from the community and hope to continue.”

“I believe we have made many great changes to the National Park but we must continue to seek improvements and, in partnership with Krish and my Authority colleagues, I will endeavour to support the National Park achieve its aims.  I look forward to another year of engaging with the community and improving communications.”

Cllr Krish Pathak, a representative of Powys County Council is now in his second year as Deputy Chairman of the Authority after joining the Authority in 2004.

He said: “I am delighted to be re-elected as Deputy Chairman. All members of the National Park Authority work as a team and it has been rewarding to work in partnership with Mary leading that team.”

The re-elected Chairman of Planning, Access and Rights of Way (PAROW) is Cllr Evan Morgan, also from Powys County Council and the re-elected Deputy Chairman is Cllr Anthony Carrington, a representative of Monmouthshire County Council.

The Internal Review Committee is still to be headed by Chairman, Cllr Alan Breeze from Monmouthshire County Council, with Deputy Chairman Mr Peter Seaman a Welsh Assembly Government appointed member.

For further information on changes on the committee structure and membership, please visit the Members and Committees page of our website.