Chairman re-elected for National Park

Mrs Taylor has served on the National Park Authority for the past twelve years and is now the longest serving Chairman for the Bannau Brycheiniog National Park Authority since it became independent.  First appointed as Chairman in June 2006, today’s vote demonstrates that she retains the valued support of the Members and Officers, as she continues to lead the Authority through an exceptional period that has seen many changes.  She has valuable knowledge of environmental issues at a local and national level, and is also Vice-Chairman for the Campaign for National Parks.

Of her re-election Mrs Taylor said: “It is a very great privilege to back in the hot seat for another year.  I am honoured that the National Park Authority Members have re-elected me to continue as their Chairman for 2009/10 and I hope to serve them and the communities they represent fairly and faithfully.  I have always maintained that I wanted to finish the job that I set out to do – which is to lead this Authority into calmer waters.  In the last year we have laid the foundations on which I believe we can now build something to be proud of and I intend to do that with the ongoing support of the Members, the Officers and most importantly our communities.   The road ahead of us is long but it will be rewarding. 

“Finally, I’d like to welcome Cllr Martin Weale as the new Deputy Chairman, and thank Cllr Krishn Pathak, the outgoing Deputy Chairman for his invaluable support and advice over the past few years.  I hope that this ongoing support from all quarters will continue whilst we oversee the challenges we face as one of the UK’s best known and protected landscapes.”

Commenting on Mrs Taylor’s re-appointment, the Chief Executive of Bannau Brycheiniog National Park Authority, John Cook said: “I am delighted that Mary has been re-appointed as Chairman of the Park Authority.  In light of the changes and the challenges that lay ahead of us, it will be helpful for us to have this continuity and along with Mary’s considerable experience as Chair, will particularly benefit us moving forward.  She is a champion for this Authority and for me personally has been invaluable in the last twelve months –  I look forward to facing this new term with her ongoing support.”

Cllr Martin Weale, a Member of the Authority since 2008 said of his appointment as Deputy Chairman: “It’s a great privilege to be elected as Deputy Chairman and I am absolutely delighted to be to work alongside our Chairman Mrs Mary Taylor and the other Members of this Authority.  I remember the time when I first came on board the National Park Authority how committed all the Members were to improving this Authority.  We have so much to be proud of – not just of our surroundings but to the people who remain dedicated to protecting and serving it well.  I hope the communities will see a real difference in the way we operate and improve over the coming years and I’m grateful to be part of that.”

Cllr Mrs Kathryn Silk from Powys County Council was re-elected as the Chairman of Planning, Access and Rights of Way (PAROW), so too was the re-elected Deputy Chairman, Mrs Jackie Charlton – a Welsh Assembly Government appointed member.

The Audit and Scrutiny Committee replaces what was formerly the Internal Review Committee and will continue to be headed by Chairman Cllr William Powell from Powys County Council, with re-elected Deputy Chairman Mr Peter Seaman, a Welsh Assembly Government appointed member.

For further information on changes to the committee structure and membership, please visit the Bannau Brycheiniog National Park Authority’s website at Members/Committees